Bounty Hunting in Washington, WA
Bounty Hunters are known as “bail bond recovery agents” in Washington and the state has licensing and behavioral laws targeted directly at Fugitive Recovery Agents. With strict regulations comes the imperative to know state law and be aware of safe and effective skip tracing and apprehension techniques. The bottom line is that if you wish to become a Bounty Hunter in Washington, training and education are very important.
How to Become a Bounty Hunter in Washington
Becoming a Bounty Hunter in Washington requires training before one can apply for a license. This training must cover four topics:
After training is complete along with licensing (outlined in more detail below), it is essential to contact bail bond agencies to obtain contracts for pursuing fugitives. A good place to start is searching in the county in which you wish to operate and contact agencies expressing your interest along with citing the training that you have completed. By proving you have already completed training it shows that you are dedicated to the profession and are a safe and knowledgeable Fugitive Recovery Agent.
Washington Bounty Hunter License and Requirements
Before applying for a Bail Bond Recovery Agent’s license in Washington it is important to be aware that you must meet certain requirements. One must be at least 21 years old, a legal resident of the US or a US citizen, not have been convicted of a crime that “relates to the capacity to perform the duties” of a Bounty Hunter, and have a high school diploma, GED, or proof of 3 years experience in the bail bond industry. If you meet these requirements, Bounty Hunter licenses are issued by the <a href=”https://www.dol.wa.gov/” target=blank>Washington State Department of Licensing</a>. After training is completed, one must pass an examination covering all the topics in training. It is comprised of 50 multiple choice questions, 35 of which must be answered correctly in order to obtain a license. The examination takes place after the receipt of a completed <a href=”https://www.dol.wa.gov/forms/692005.pdf” target=blank>license application</a>, along with a fingerprints card and a $400 fee. The application requires proof of training completion so it is necessary to keep good records of all of your training.