Bounty Hunting in Mississippi - MS
Mississippi is one of the states that has specific legislation pertaining to Bounty Hunters, or “Bail Enforcement Agents” as they are known in the state, and requires a license. However, Fugitive Recovery Agents enjoy a great deal of freedom and are allowed to make arrests anywhere in the state, as well as having the luxury of requesting the assistance of law enforcement in making an arrest. Thus, while there are specific restrictions on who can become a Fugitive Recovery Agent in the state, it is rewarding to work there and having the support of law enforcement can help to ensure the safety of Bounty Hunters in Mississippi.
How to Become a Bounty Hunter in Mississippi
To become a Bounty Hunter in Mississippi, one must first obtain a license, requirements for which are described below, and then find work with a bail bond company. The upside of acquiring a license is that it requires education and training, which proves to prospective bond companies that you are knowledgeable and prepared to carry out safe and effective skip tracing.
Mississippi Bounty Hunter Licenses and Requirements
A license is required to become a Bounty Hunter in Mississippi and it can be obtained through the Department of Insurance. There are, however, a number of requirements that must be met to receive a license. Licenses can only be issued to individuals who have been a resident of the state for at least one year and is at least 21 years old. No law enforcement officers, surety agents, judicial officials, or attorneys may be licensed. Before obtaining a license an individual must complete at least 8 hours of education approved byThe Professional Bail Agents Association of Mississippi and offered by Mississippi Judicial College or another approved institution. Licenses expire annually on the last day of May, and an additional 8 hours of continuing education is required for renewal. One contingency is that individuals may work as Fugitive Recovery Agents without education but must complete the education at the first possible opportunity. Other requirements include a $40 fee, “proof of good moral character,” and proof that the applicant is not a felon.